Anastasia Beverly Hills has done it again! The Modern Renaissance palette is full of beautiful hues reminiscent of a warm summer sunset. The palette is comprised of permanent shades and includes 11 matte and 3 metallic shadows. The color combos are endless! And so are the social media posts. Advertising has just exploded with the ability to tease people over upcoming products by infiltrating their social media with it. What’s more is that ads begin to pop up on other web pages knowing that you searched or liked the product already. And then. And then. And then. It’s an aggressive approach to make people spend their hard earned money, and it works!

I couldn’t wait to get my hands on this beauty! There is so much I appreciate about art, but I don’t know enough to speak intelligently about it. What I do know is looking into this palette makes me imagine Italy. I can see wine country, sunsets on the coast, the clay roads of history. It’s a great nod to makeup being what you perceive. And if it doesn’t turn out how you imagined, wash it off and try again!

2016-06-06 18.07.55

Majestic best describes this color range. I have seen gorgeous looks created using these shadows, and they all come out looking regal. It’s sophisticated make up that can be soft and simple or bold and commanding. 

The brush included is the same given with the previously released palettes. One side is fluffy to help with blending while the other end is more precise for accurate application. I love the precision side, but I find that the fluffy side loses bristles easily and is fairly course. 

The top row includes: * Tempura * Golden Ochre * Vermeer (metallic) * Buon Fresco * Antique Bronze (metallic)           * Love Letter * Cyprus Umber

2016-06-06 18.11.25

Antique bronze is my favorite on the top row! I love that it has a plum tint to it with the bronze shimmer. It’s a great all over the lid shade, or it could be used to smoke out the lower lash line. While it’s very pigmented, the shade is just perfect as it is neither too dark not too light. Perfect for daytime and nighttime looks. It reminds me of other shades, but when I pull them out to see if it’s a dupe, nothing quite matches. It’s a stunning and unique shade. 

The bottom row includes: Raw Sienna * Burnt Orange * Primavera (metallic) * Red Ochre * Venetian Red * Warm Taupe * Realgar

2016-06-06 18.15.59

I can’t decide which shade on this row is my favorite. The whole row is what enticed me to buy the palette. If forced to pick, Venetian Red would be the winner.

In high school red was my favorite color (until I realized green is my bff of the color wheel). I could never find a red eyeshadow, so I settled for a cream blush from MAC. It worked really well, but by the time it dried out I had grown out of the phase. When I saw the swatches and photos of this palette it took me straight back to my high school dreams of red eyeshadows. Except, of course, that this was a palette far more sophisticated than red circles rimmed with thick, black liquid liner. Now I blend the crease out too!


This is a YouTube inspired look from Jeffree Star. He is incredibly talented and explains the steps brilliantly. The look was created with the shades:

– realgar

-cypress umber

-burnt orange

-red ochre

-Venetian red

-love letter

-primavera

-tempura

Because they are so blendable it’s no trouble to layer multiple shadows on top of one another. It’s an easy way to add depth and versatility to number of looks to be created.

My loves for this pallette include the color selection, texture of the shadows, pigment and blendability. They stand on their own, and they don’t need the enhancement of being applied wet. Do it though, because primavera is even more amazing with that uumph! The cost is $42, and for 14 luxurious shadows and a dual ended brush that is quite reasonable.

My drawback of the palette is the velvet-esque packaging. It’s beautiful and very high end, but it cannot be kept clean. One dusting of fallout hitting the top side of this masterpiece and it is stained. There are worse things that could happen, but this palette is meant to be showcased like the work of art it is. The clumsy, real life happenings weren’t considered when choosing this texture for the packaging.

Follow Anastasia Beverly Hills and Norvina on Instagram to see the latest looks they’re loving from their palette.

You can follow me on Instagram to see what looks I create with these products and others. Facebook is also DragonflyBeauty79 if you want to be alerted to my posts here!

 

