Have you seen the latest gimmick in makeup application? Perhaps not as inventive as pouncing a bell pepper or condom all over your face, but invariably cuter, more practical, and most importantly, epically more sanitary. Did I mention cute?! Enter #thefrushy. I recently watched MannyMUA’s review, and he called it a mermaid tail. Species isn’t the only thing we disagreed upon when reviewing this item. Let’s compare and contrast!

  1. Fish or Mermaid: To me, this is totally a fish. Even the name- Frushy- implies a flounderarielscaly pal with cuteness up to the gills. Available in a variety of colors, you can pick out the best sidekick possible. All the bristles are made from cruelty-free, synthetic fibers. They are all the same color, no matter the metallic tail, save the silver who has unique colors for bristles. Edit: on the website this is referred to as a mermaid or fishtail. I guess we’ll have to take the stalemate on this one. 🙂
  2. What do you use this brush to apply? This question is harder than it needs to be. The website, Beauty Essentials Store, lists it as a contour/highlighting brush, but when I saw their video of the product the MUA was using it for foundation, DSCN0892concealer, contour, highlighter, etc. Manny tried it out for a contour and was deeply unsatisfied. He used a cream product, and it didn’t want to blend at all. I don’t contour, so I used the Frushy to apply my foundation. I thought it worked beautifully! It evenly distributed the liquid onto my skin and blurred it right in. I don’t feel there were patchy areas, and I didn’t notice using any more product than I would have with my Artis Oval 7 or Beauty Blender. I liked that I was able to get into the crevices around my nose by using the tip of the brushhead. Even the spot on the right side of my nose that stubbornly resists product placement succumbed to the swishing frushy’s magical powers. Manny attempted to put foundation on his forehead, and while he was pleased with the application he found the size of the brush to be awkward. It was perfect for my hands. I was able to curl my index finger around the edge of the tail and felt it was very secure. I did find that concealer doesn’t go very well because of the width of the brush. The bristles are very compact so it does not manipulate very well when you want to work in small, curved areas only. Highlighter is amazing! You can make it blinding or tone it down, whichever you choose.
  3. How much does it cost?: Currently, $10.99! Plus shipping, and you’re looking at $14.95. It arrived within 5 days of ordering nicely boxed and protected by a plastic cover over the bristles.

Final Thoughts: While I agree with Manny that you could totally buy this just for fun, I also think it’s a great foundation and/or highlighter brush. I like the synthetic bristles, the fact that it’s a cruelty-free product, the application it grants, and it’s just so damn cute! I love my blue Frushy friend, and I may soon be adding a rose gold companion. For under $15 this is totally worth the purchase!

DSCN0900

Let me know in the comments below if you too made a scaly friend! How do you use it? What color did you choose? Most importantly, what did you name it? I call mine Kai, Hawaiian for “sea.”